The 6th PRSE “Center for Advanced Magnetics” Workshop

The 6th PRSE “Center for Advanced Magnetics” Workshop was successfully held in the Grey Rock Room in Lory Student Center on June 18, 2019.  The workshop had about 55 participants.  The program included eight talks from students and post-doctoral research fellows in the Center and two invited talks given by Professor Sara Majetich from Carnegie Mellon University and Professor Carl Patton from the Center.  Three of the presenters from the Center were selected to receive the Best Presentation Awards.  The awardees were Gavin Hester, Cassidy Jackson, and Katie Nygren.  The 7th PRSE “Center for Advanced Magnetics” Workshop will be held in January 2020.


The 6th PRSE “Center for Advanced Magnetics” Workshop

June 18, 2019

Room 290 Grey Rock, Lory Student Center

8:00 AM-9:00 AM


9:00 AM-10:00 AM

Sara Majetich – “Applications of Magnetic Nanoparticles in Biomedicine” (Invited Talk)

10:00 AM-10:10 AM

Coffee Break

10:10 AM-10:30 AM

Gavin Hester – “A Novel Strongly Spin-Orbit Coupled Quantum Dimer Magnet: Yb2Si2O7

10:30 AM-10:50 AM

Cassidy Jackson – “Nuclear-Spin-Pattern Control of Electron-Spin Dynamics in V(IV) Complexes

10:50 AM-11:10 AM

Josh Lauzier – “Magnetic and Structural Characterization of FeRh/Ni Bilayers

11:10 AM-11:30 AM

Chuanpu Liu – “Damping in Y3Fe5O12 Thin Films with Perpendicular Anisotropy

11:30 AM-11:45 AM

Group Photo

11:45 AM-1:00 PM


1:00 PM-2:00 PM

Carl Patton – “A ‘Nuts and Bolts’ Perspective on Phenomenological Damping in Magnetization Dynamics” (Invited Talk)

2:00 PM-2:10 PM

Coffee Break

2:10 PM-2:30 PM

Eve Mozur – “Orientational Phase Transitions in Hybrid Perovskites Arise from Quadrupolar Strain

2:30 PM-2:50 PM

Katie Nygren – “Magnetization Dynamics in Vanadium Tetracyanoethylene

2:50 PM-3:10 PM

Romeo Portillo – “What is the Link Between a Heisenberg Spin Ladder and Solar Photocatalysis?

3:10 PM-3:30 PM

Muhammad Tahir – “Emergent Flat Band Lattices in Spatially Periodic Magnetic Fields

3:35 PM-3:40 PM

Best Presentation Award